Selkie Tea

Standard

Tea of the Day: Selkie Tea by Dryad Tea

Description: “Oh sister selkie, come to the sea again. Your mortal husband will not set you free, your children skip waves on the rocky seashore. Shall you die on the barren lee? And forget about your sister Selkie?” A wonderful green tea laced with ginger and lemongrass to create a tea that many a selkie would enjoy.

Dry tea smells lightly sweet and savory with a hint of ginger bite.

Steeped tea has a stronger ginger scent.

Liquor is a dark golden yellow in the cup.

The tea is at first very subtle. The first few sips are just a little sweet and a touch grassy, but as you drink, the ginger flavor comes out more and more. Adding sugar makes the ginger more prevalent, and the tea itself a touch more astringent.

Tea Rating: 3.5/5


As you may have noticed, it’s been a while since I posted.

It’s not that I haven’t been writing.

On the contrary, I write something almost every day, usually in the evening before I go to sleep.

But, it’s been very…focused. Basically my mind is in one of two places: my job search and associated feelings, or on the planned events for the upcoming Samhain.

At a certain point, I become a broken record and further repetitions get me no where.

And I want my posts to be, on some level, something that can help others who might be having a bad day, or be useful for gaining perspective on a particularly sticky issue.

I honestly don’t feel like my thoughts lately do either of those things.

But, maybe I’m wrong (it’s a pretty common occurrence for me).

So…

I was terminated from my job earlier this month. It wasn’t something that particularly surprised me; in fact, I had been trying to move one because I had been under pressure for a while.

But the actual event was a bit of a shock, of course.

And so I felt a whole mess of things.

Tired and defeated, because I had really been trying to improve on what I was told needed improvement so I could leave on my own terms, or maybe even not at all since I did like the people I work with (for the most part.)

Relieved, because the pressure from the job was gone. It’s an opportunity to find a better fit.

And on the heels of that, doubt. So much doubt.

Feeling like I’m failing at the adult thing, and that I’m going to be a burden to my significant other and my best friend because no income = can’t pull my weight. Plus, I know how stuck I can get emotionally when shit hits the fan and I desperately don’t want to be a burden on anyone…

…as the weeks have gone on, this has changed a bit. I’m less worried about money for the moment because my last check came in and I know I’m covered on bills until about the middle of November.

What it is replaced with is this weird combination of lonely and bored and feeling guilty about both, with a dash of excitement for an unknown future.

I’ve done all the apps I can do at this moment that are not retail, and have set a deadline for myself to apply for retail jobs so at least I am working again. I’m keeping the house reasonably neat and making dinner when there aren’t leftovers to eat, so you know, not sitting on my rear end there.

I have things to look forward to, it’s just the waiting that’s killing me.

The icing on the cake is that I feel like I’m being a shit friend for being so in my own head. I have been attempting to reach out to people that I know have also had struggles recently and check in, and spent time with people who have asked for it. I just keep feeling like there’s something else I could do, or should do. The side effect of this being, annoyingly, that I suddenly want to be by myself because if I’m not around anyone I’m also not hurting anyone, right?

What I’m left with is reminding myself of the things that I have to look forward to (initiation, a wedding, D&D night), and just taking the rest as it comes.

The waves will pass and I’ll still be in my little boat bobbing along in the end

Leave a Reply

