Brioche

Standard

Tea of the Day: Brioche by American Tea Room

Description: As aromatic as a French patisserie, this black tea with almonds, cinnamon, and safflower blossoms is a new classic

Dry tea smells like a cookie, rather like fig newtons, sweet and nutty

Liquor is a slightly cloudy reddish brown in the cup

Steeped tea smells similar to the dry but more smoky. Tastes a lot like it smells, sweet, nutty, and smoky with a hint of astringency. Adding sugar cuts the astringency. Very soothing and smooth tea.

Tea Rating: 4/5


As part of my efforts to be a happier and healthier person, not just for the new year but for the long-term (I’m getting married in a year and a half I have a lot to look forward to!) I’ve been participating in something called The 30 day Love Your Life Project.  It’s been interesting so far and has helped me put to paper some actual goals and steps to achieve them.

Day 7 was to play detective: observe my thoughts, words, and actions, and when they are not serving me to deliberately craft a counter-message to put to use immediately.

Sounds easy. And it really should be. But it was at that moment, sitting there at my desk with my pen in hand that I came face-to-face with the reality that my mind is rarely ever still. There is a lot going on up there! The task seemed daunting…and then I clued in. That thought of being overwhelmed and unable to move forward was, in fact, one of those unhelpful thoughts that I’d like to correct.

This morning, I came across an article that talked about the same kind of thing that the project did, but focused on how to make exercising easier, specifically.

I’m sharing an excerpt of the article here, because I think it will help with my own motivation when it comes to the gym, and might help some of my lovely readers, as well!

 

Nine of the cyclists then took two weeks to train as normal. The other nine received sessions in motivational skills training, a kind of self-talk that involves “reframing” negative feelings—like how hot it is—into positive ones. Instead of thinking “My legs are burning” or “I’m sweating like crazy,” they were taught to come up with more positive, empowering phrases like “I’m doing well” or “I can handle this.”

At the end of two weeks, everyone came back to do the hot-exercise test again. The first group saw no change in their performance. But the experimental group “improved a huge amount,” Cheung says. They were able to pedal for 25% longer than they were initially, and they could sustain high levels of discomfort for a lot longer than their peers. Their body temperatures were also hotter than those of their peers, suggesting that the brain has a lot of power in determining how far the body is able to push itself.

This is pretty cool to me, further evidence that I (and you) can do whatever you want as long as you get your mind in the right place.

 

 

Leave a Reply

