Cream Earl Grey

Standard

Tea of the Day: Cream Earl Grey by The London Tea Room

Description: Based off of the Earl Grey’s voyage to Prussia, where he frolicked in fields of cornflowers and discovered the joys of vanilla after tasting a dessert crafted by Otto von Bismarck’s renowned pastry chef.

Dry tea smells at first like fresh dirt and flowers, but when you breathe a little deeper you can smell a sweeter creamy scent. Steeped tea smells sweeter

Liquor is a dark caramel brown in the cup

Steeped tea without sugar does taste a little earthy, but with a pleasant aftertaste that is smooth and sweet. Adding sugar brings the creamy sweet taste to the forefront. Adding a little milk makes it even creamier in flavor. I really enjoy the layered complexity of this particular tea

Tea Rating: 4/5


I have a confession to make.

I am not, in fact, a very motivated person.

My internal conversation semi-regularly sounds something like “I can’t wait to get home so I can just not do anything anymore,” or “It’s only __ and I already want to go back to bed”

And then I get home after work and I do stuff anyway. Or I try to.

Sometimes, though, I feel like I’m maybe misrepresenting myself. I strive to put a lot of positive out there, to put the daily trials in a more positive light, but I fall short just as often as I succeed.

I feel like, as someone who blogs about life, I need to be honest about it. It’s not always pretty. It’s a struggle, possibly more often than I want to think about.

There are days where it literally takes me all day to come up with anything to say that isn’t just whining.

I enjoy working out, but I have to force myself to go, almost literally take me by the ear and go “you will get a workout in today, missy!” If I don’t continuously push myself to go, I’ll get lazy and not go, and I’ll come up with plenty of valid reasons why it’s ok. Some of them are valid…some are not.  I’ve even been so totally unmotivated that I cried.

I like my job, love where I work, but I still want to put my forehead through my desk at times.

I look in the mirror and want to pick apart what I see, but seem to have a hard time remembering to simple things every day like remember to take my vitamins. It’s like when it comes time to make good changes I space out on it 60-70% of the time

I can’t imagine my life without my fiance and my best friends, and yet there are moments where I don’t want anyone to effing talk to me for like, 5 minutes. I feel horrible for having that thought ever cross my mind, but it still comes back.

So, if you read what I write  beyond the tea review, please know that I’m not trying to be fake. I write about the positive things I see and feel and  think about because there is way too much negative in the world…but that doesn’t change the fact that there is negative inside of me, too.

And if you feel like you struggle with your negatives, from once struggler to another, let me say this: you can do it. You can get to the gym, or stick to your eating plan, or read more books, or whatever it is you want to do but seem to have trouble with. I promise


“This is life. It is hard and it is painful and it is everyday, but we fight.” Angela, from the TV series Bones.

 

Leave a Reply

