English Breakfast

Standard

Tea of the Day: English Breakfast by Red Rose

Description: This hearty blend, sourced from some of the greatest tea estates in the lush green mountains of Ceylon and the African Rift Valley, captures the centuries-old tradition of English Breakfast tea.

Dry tea smells a bit sweet but also somewhat like fried food

Liquor is a light caramel brown in the cup

Steeped tea is sweet with an earthy tone to the flavor . A touch of sugar smooths out the flavor a touch, but also makes it more astringent. All in all, a decent cup of tea.

Tea Rating: 2.5/5


Somewhat in the vein of yesterday’s post, I found myself reading things that have been said to graduates in the past, things meant to re-assure, and inspire, and maybe to make uncomfortable, too.

At my sister’s graduation, one of the school officials (I think the principle?) advised that the words “I love you” are the most powerful words we can say to our parents, and we never know how much it might be needed.

Adam Savage, in a speech to the graduates at Saint Lawrence College in 2012 said:

” Raymond Chandler didn’t write a single word of any consequence until his 40s. Julia Child learned to cook at 40! Clint Eastwood directed his first film at 41. Don’t be afraid to be a late bloomer. Repeatedly.

Remember that you have time to figure out what you want to do. Who you need to be. Where you want to go. You have time to fail. You have time to mess up. You have time to try again. And when you mess that up, you still have time. Just so long as you’re willing to work hard.

I found his words to hit home for me simply because it often feels like there isn’t time to figure it out, that we just have to get on with it, yesterday. Also, because I realize now that what I actually want to do is to eventually go into counseling, which (of course) requires a different bachelor’s degree than what I have and very likely a master’s as well. I’ve decided that I don’t need to rush, but it’s hard at times to allow myself to feel settled.

Mindy Kaling said in 2014 to the Harvard Law School graduates:

What advice could I give you guys? Celebrities give too much advice and people listen to it too much. … Most of us have no education whatsoever. … Who should be giving advice and the answer is people like you. You are better educated and you are going to go out into the world and people are going to listen to what you say, whether you are good or evil, and that probably scares you because some of you look really young. And I’m afraid a couple of you probably are evil. That’s just the odds.

Her words are a combination of hope and fear, what I imagine most adults feel as they see us youngsters grow up and graduate and move into the world. And I identify with her feelings, because I am one among many and some of those many may end up in positions to do bad things, or great things.

In 2004, Bono said the following about changing the future:

Sing the melody line you hear in your own head, remember, you don’t owe anybody any explanations, you don’t owe your parents any explanations, you don’t owe your professors any explanations. You know I used to think the future was solid or fixed, something you inherited like an old building that you move into when the previous generation moves out or gets chased out.

But it’s not. The future is not fixed, it’s fluid. You can build your own building, or hut or condo, whatever; this is the metaphor part of the speech by the way.

But my point is that the world is more malleable than you think and it’s waiting for you to hammer it into shape. Now if I were a folksinger I’d immediately launch into “If I Had a Hammer” right now get you all singing and swaying. But as I say I come from punk rock, so I’d rather have the bloody hammer right here in my fist.

That’s what this degree of yours is, a blunt instrument. So go forth and build something with it. Remember what John Adams said about Ben Franklin, “He does not hesitate at our boldest Measures but rather seems to think us too irresolute.“”

This one makes me feel fired up, and a little defiant, like my heart is saying “hey, watch what I can do, watch me make something that you never dared imagine”

And finally, a poem by Kahlil Gibran that my father wrote out for me (and my sister) in my graduation card :

Your children are not your children.
They are the sons and daughters of Life’s longing for itself.
They come through you but not from you,
And though they are with you yet they belong not to you.

You may give them your love but not your thoughts,
For they have their own thoughts.
You may house their bodies but not their souls,
For their souls dwell in the house of tomorrow,
which you cannot visit, not even in your dreams.
You may strive to be like them,
but seek not to make them like you.
For life goes not backward nor tarries with yesterday.

You are the bows from which your children
as living arrows are sent forth.
The archer sees the mark upon the path of the infinite,
and He bends you with His might
that His arrows may go swift and far.
Let your bending in the archer’s hand be for gladness;
For even as He loves the arrow that flies,
so He loves also the bow that is stable.

These are words, thoughts and lights in the dark that give me hope and make me feel as though my life has purpose that I may not yet know, and meaning that hopefully my children or those who follow after will see.

One thought on “English Breakfast

Leave a Reply

