Sleepy Time

Standard

Tea of the Day: Sleepy Time by Celestial Seasonings

Description:  This most beloved of herbal teas gets its comforting aroma and perfectly balanced flavor from a blend of soothing herbs, including delicate chamomile, cool spearmint and fresh lemongrass.

Dry tea smells like mint with a bit more of a kick

Liquor is a clear golden yellow in the cup

Tea is light and lightly sweet all on it’s own, with a bit of a bit on the aftertaste, which is not unpleasant. Adding sugar brings out the flavor of the lemongrass a bit more and helps the tea feel a little smoother.

Tea Rating: 3.5/5


 

The last few months for me have been busy ones, and as a result there have been some things that I let slip in terms of my health

The complicated relationship I have with my self-esteem and motivation as a result is a topic I’ll cover later on this week.

For today, I just want to talk about some things I’ve done recently to help myself get back on track to being the healthiest person I can be.

Last week I resolved to fix my sleep patterns, because I was noticing that I was just plain tired all the time, except for maybe on the weekends.

I’ve been going to be a bit earlier, or at least settling down for the night before 11pm, which is important because I usually start to wake up for the day around 6:30am, meaning that I was consistently cutting my hours of sleep to 7 hours or less.

On the other side of things, in the morning, I’ve been doing my best to actually start my day around 6:30am rather than going back to sleep until I actually have to get up at 7ish. This is because although it seems like a little more sleep would be good, it was actually making me groggy and out of it when I finally did get up.

The next goal I’m tackling, that goes with the getting up bit, is doing yoga in the morning, to help shake off the last bit of sleep. I have a 30 minutes workout that focuses on flexibility rather than strength, which is good because when I do go to the gym it’s in the evening so this will help me not be so stiff. I used to do yoga a lot more, and it feels pretty good to get back into it, if weird to be doing it first thing in the morning

The very last thing I’ve been focused on is drinking enough water. This probably sounds a little odd since I drink so much tea. However, although I love it and tea is good for you it’s not totally a substitute for water, particularly when it’s caffeinated tea we’re talking about. I was doing ok, but feeling like I could be doing better. On Monday I found an app for my phone called Plant Nanny. It’s pretty easy to navigate: you tell the app your weight and activity level, plus the size of the cup you use, and it tells you how many cups you need to drink. As you drink water, you water the plant. The plants are little cartoon plants with cute little faces that sing to you if you tap on them. You can change the pot and the background, some for free, some for “seeds” which you can earn slowly or buy for immediate gratification.

I’m on my third day of this, and I’ve noticed a few things already. First off, as you’d probably expect, I need to use the restroom a lot more. Interesting thing about that though, I’ve noticed that today I haven’t need to run as many times as I did yesterday or the day before, so it would seem that your bladder can get used to the increase in intake to a certain degree. The other things are bit more subtle: I’m less tired in the morning and throughout the day, and am finding that I want water more than anything else, except when I’m cold. I’ve also noticed that I don’t feel as wiped out when I work out, which makes me wonder how much of my sheer exhaustion earlier this month was simply from not drinking enough water…eesh!


“You are not a mistake. You are not a problem to be solved. But you won’t discover this until you are willing to stop banging your head against the wall of shaming and caging and fearing yourself “– Geneen Roth, Women, Food and God: An Unexpected Path to Almost Everything

 

One thought on “Sleepy Time

Leave a Reply

