Highland Select

Standard

Tea of the Day: Ernest Hemingway Highland Select Tea by World Market

Description: Ernest Hemingway Highland Select Tea is an impression of the author’s life and spirit, bringing the romance of exotic places and adventures to every cup. With its delicate aroma, it’s a memorable to enjoy a cup of tea

Dry tea smells like a crisp breeze with a hint of something like heather mixed in

In the steeped tea, the scents are blending together more

Liquor is a clear red-brown in the cup

Tea is astringent and brisk at very first taste. It tastes like it should be drunk on a porch at sunrise, helping you greet the day on your own terms

Adding sugar brings out a smokey yet floral flavor.

All in all in interesting cup

Tea Rating: 4/5


 

It’s the third day of the new year and I’m tired and sore and oh! so happy.

The sore is from the second day of a 30 day buns, guns, and abs challenge I found for myself to do, as a way to help me get back into a healthy workout routine. I have a lot of internal drive, but sometimes giving myself a specific intermediate goal really helps.

The tired is from the working out, of course, but also because my Mate works late tonight and I’m choosing to wait for him because we both rest better curled up together.

I’m happy for a number of reasons, the most important being that I am something I’ve never been before: a fiance

He proposed at the closing of the old year, underneath a fireworks finale that would have occurred had we been there or not but will live in my memory as an explosion of joy for our moment.

I had chosen that night not to bring my camera or try to take pictures with my phone, because I wanted to be fully present in the moment with him, and I’m so glad I made that choice. It means that I have so many details in my head to recount in our later years.

This feels right, but truthfully a little stunning.

I knew when we got together that we’d end up here, like the way you know the sun will rise.

There was still some doubt, though. Not in him, but in me. Since I couldn’t know what he had planned or when, I found it not to be too far-fetched of a thought that I’d push him away. I’m good at that; I’ll give a lot of myself  without being particularly patient back in my own direction. This will lead to frustration with me, and thus I feel like I’m not worth being around or that I’m causing problems and I’ll shut down, drawing away for fear of lashing out.

I couldn’t push him away if I tried.

The last few days have been mostly just relaxing but also trying to wrap my head around how well and truly blessed I am.

Nothing’s changed, but everything has.

I’m living in a reality that I barely dared to dream of.


 

You rose into my life like a promised sunrise, brightening my days with the light in your eyes. I’ve never been so strong. Now I’m where I belong.– Maya Angelou

4 thoughts on “Highland Select

Leave a Reply

