Forget-Me-Not Blueberry

Standard

Tea of the Day: Forget-Me-Not Blueberry black tea by Alaska Herb Tea Company

Description: Black Tea has always been a favorite “pick-me-up”in Alaska. Alaskans sometimes mix local herbs with black tea to enhance it, or stretch it out so it will last through the long winter. This tea has been enhanced with blueberries and the state flower, the Forget-Me-Not.

Dry tea smells like blueberries, with an undertone of something a little more tart

Liquor is a warm golden brown in the cup.

Steeped tea smells like blueberry, but subtly so.

Tea tastes like ripe, sweet blueberries, with a grassy tone that makes the tea very light

Adding sugar simply make the tea more flirty. Pleasant little cuppa

Tea Rating: 4/5


 

For once in my life, I am normal.

Sounds a little odd, so I’ll explain

Yesterday I was swept up by a wave of grief, a gut punch from nowhere that just rocked me back on my (mental) heels.

I was at once wanting comfort and wanting to just burrito in my bed and avoid all people, tired and bewildered.

After some internal back-and-forth, I called home because if anyone could talk me out of my crazy, it would be Daddy.

As it turns I am not crazy. Or at least not in a way that is something that I need to fix or make go away

Daddy told me that he still misses his father, who’s been gone for around 40 years. He said that grief is just like that, there will be days that something reminds you of someone you lost and it will feel like it just happened all over again. It’s how you know that that person really meant something to you

Something else, too. In this, I am not alone. Though I may feel lost and unsure of what I’m really supposed to do with all of this, it’s not just me out there slugging along.

Daddy and my sister are there, too.

And together, we’ll get through it. This time and every other time it happens.


“It has been said, ‘time heals all wounds.’ I do not agree. The wounds remain. In time, the mind, protecting its sanity, covers them with scar tissue and the pain lessens. But it is never gone.”
― Rose Kennedy

 

Leave a Reply

