Hazelnut

Standard

Tea of the Day: Hazelnut black tea by Summit Spice and Tea

Description: This rich blend is great for ex-coffee drinkers to appreciate. Good black or with milk and sugar!

Dry to smells sharply nutty, and very rich. Seems to have a hint of mint

Liquor is a very dark red/brown in the cup

Steeped tea smells like the dry, but more rich and the minty is pretty much gone.

First sip is full and wonderfully nutty, with a lightness in the aftertaste.

Adding sugar highlight the hazelnut flavor, but also seems to make it taste more like coffee, punchy and very rich

A splash of milk makes it smooth and satisfying, like a latte from your favorite cafe, but without all the hassle of dealing with people

Tea Rating : 4/5


 

As we get toward the end of November, I find that my mind seems a bit anxious

I’ve been restlessly tossing about at night, and oddly sensitive during the day (but not all the time)

It occurred to me that I’m expecting something bad to happen, that someone I care about will leave my life, because this happened about this time the last two years running.

I am comfortable in the thought that such things will not be happening this year, but the tense seems still to be there.

So, I asked my dad what he does when this happens to him (if it does).

He said “Act otherwise.”

At first I was upset, feeling like that was neither particularly helpful or particularly kind.

But it did get me thinking.

He’s right, of course. There is nothing to do but change it. No magic pill, or secret song that will change what’s going on in my head.

Just myself, and my choices.

I can choose to worry and be bothered and not enjoy Thanksgiving or my birthday fully because of it

Or, I can acknowledge that these things happened, accept that they were neither my fault, nor in my control, and choose to have a better time this time around.

It helps to focus on the good things.

Last couple of year, when things were hard, I wasn’t entirely alone.

I had my very good friend around. There was no way for her to change what was happening, but she made it safe for me to cry when I needed to, got me to laugh when I didn’t think I could, and prodded me when I started to wallow in self-pity.

She was awesome, and still is.

So, I choose not to worry. I choose to remember the good that came from the bad, and look forward to what’s in front of me


“Humans are pattern-seeking story-telling animals, and we are quite adept at telling stories about patterns, whether they exist or not.”
― Michael Shermer

 

Leave a Reply

