Orange Black Tea

Standard

Tea of the Day: Orange by Adagio Teas

Description: Lemons and black tea make such a natural pair, so why not try oranges? Our Orange Black tea combines fresh and brisk Ceylon black tea with the flavor of juicy, ripe Florida oranges, playfully accented with orange peel. Zesty orange rind dryness, with hints of soft, sweet orange juice (makes a great balance). Crisp and refreshing cup.

Dry tea smells like a fistfull of oranges, uplifting and cheery

Liquor is red-orange brown in the cup

Still smells very orangey, but the flavor does not come out at first, you just get the full body of the black tea. Adding sugar brings out the orange flavor and creates a peppy and smooth brew. Only downside: a slightly chalky feel in the mouth after the tea has gone down.

Tea Rating:4.5/5


Today I’ve been working at my current job for 6 months. Not a hugely long time, but it’s important because it means that I have completed my probationary time period and will now be able to stay here (barring drastic drops in funding) for as long as I’d like.

It’s really something fantastic to be doing a job I actually like, more days than not.

I’ve been thinking about my grandmother a lot as of late, both while I’m awake and in my dreams.

There’s so much I’d tell her if we could talk, much that I think she’d be proud of.

So, here follows a letter to my grandmother, albeit with some editing because there are some things that I’d share with her that are too personal for this format, even for the open person that I am.


Gran,

It’s been a while since I last wrote to you, though I think of you often.

Actually, thinking about it, it’s been almost exactly a year since the last letter, when I wrote to you because my heart was crying out for a conversation that’s a lot harder to have, now.

A lot has happened since then, some of it bad, some of it that I’m not proud of, but a lot more that’s good and that I smile about…so I’ll go in chronological order, which just so happens to coincide with the unhappy stuff first, as well.

About a year ago I was seeing someone who seemed like he understood me, enjoyed my company, would be willing and able to treat me well, for once in my dating life (referred to forward of this as T).

Turns out he only really wanted one thing, and the rest was just a way to get that one thing. You probably would have told me that, told me to watch out for silver tongues and empty words. I’m not sure I would have listened.

In my disappointment and small heartbreak, I turned primarily to two people: my closest female friend (L) in Fairbanks and a guy friend of mine who had expressed concern when I’d started seeing (we’ll call him M, for clarity)T…when he wasn’t too busy with his life..

L was (and is) the friend I’ve always tried to be, always there for me but good at calling me on my bullshit when I’m trying to hide from something. It’s a balance, but she does it well.

I got to go see Cirque du Soleil, courtesy of T who was not longer talking to me at that point, and it was fantastic.

In February I lost the job I’d gotten with the state, leading up to the scariest two weeks of my life where I wondered what on earth I was going to do. I ended up back at Walmart, working on overnights. I was stable again, but still wanting to leave retail since I’d managed to do it once already.

During that time, I was able to spend more time with M, which was good, and leading up to something I’d never considered possible for me before.

I also met my Mate. Actually, it was the second time meeting him, but the previous time I’d not been in a place to see him as more than a potential friend. I’d don’t know how you’d feel about my calling him that so soon, but I don’t know how else to describe how I feel. He’s my Mate, the same soul in two bodies. We fell together, hand in hand, deep and strong, and I wish you could see how happy we are. It’s good to have balance and we keep each other on an even keel in a way that I’ve only ever read about. We’ve been together 7 months now and we’re planning on many more.

After that, I was able to get a job working for the University, and I haven’t looked back. Sometimes I miss the people I used to work with, but I’m finally not a retail associate and it feels good.

Because of the atmosphere and support of this job, I am on track to really finish my degree and graduate in May. I’ll go through the ceremony, because I feel pretty good about finally getting there when letting it go would have been much easier to do.

I’m finally no longer sharing a phone plan or insurance with anyone else, snipped that last lingering tie with the past that held me back

I miss you. I hope you’re out there guiding someone else the way you’ve guided me in my life, because it’s a gift that should not be limited to just one person, one lifetime.

I love you, Gran

Leave a Reply

