Assam Harmony

Standard

Tea of the Day: Assam Harmony by Adagio Teas

Description: Bold,powerful black tea from the Assam region of India. A deep, burgundy-red cup and roasted grain aroma, malty rich flavor with notes of raisins. Pungent but smooth astringency, making this tea an ideal cup to pair with milk and sugar.

Dry tea smells like something rich and savory, like a stew

Liquor is deep red-brown in the cup

Slightly less savory smell when steeped, now a little sweeter.

First taste without sugar has a bit of an astringent bite to it.

Adding sugar makes it a little smoother and brings out a malty flavor.  Adding milk really draws out the maltyness and gives it a raisiny plum-like flavor

Tea Rating:3.5/5


Here’s something interesting I’ve noticed about people watching: you notice more when you’re not specifically paying attention to any one person.

Or, at least, I do. It seems that when I’m focused on something like reading a book or magazine, playing a game on my phone, or writing a blog post, the people around me are in better focus. Maybe when I’m not specifically focusing on a person, my own biases don’t get in the way of what I’m seeing/hearing/feeling…which could very well be why I value the companionable silence I mentioned last post so much.

I’ll give an example of what I mean.

Last week, during my lunch break at work, I was sitting near the counter of the cafeteria coffee shop, reading a book and eating my lunch. Two young ladies, obviously related based on their faces and the similar way they moved, walked in from my left and sat down in a couple of chairs to my right. I noticed them because they were both energetic and animated when they talked, and a bit boisterous, so I found myself half-listening to their conversation as I read. About ten minutes later, a young guy walked up, looked at them and said “which one is the one I want?”

It was then I realized that they were twins. Without focusing directly on them, I had assumed they were related (as I already mentioned) but they seemed different enough that it did not even occur to me that they were identical twins. However, the guy that spoke to them could see nothing else.

It was a little surreal, to say the least.

Makes me wonder, though: am I the only one who notices more without trying than I do when I’m “focused?”


When you wash your hands, when you make a cup of coffee, when you’re waiting for the elevator – instead of indulging in thinking, these are all opportunities for being there as a still, alert presence.”  Eckhart Tolle

Leave a Reply

