Irish breakfast

Standard

Tea of the Day: Irish Breakfast by Adagio Teas

Description: Our Irish Breakfast combines hearty black teas from Ceylon (Sri Lanka) and Assam (India) to get your morning off to a bright start. As its name implies, Irish Breakfast black tea blend is an ideal accompaniment to a morning meal. It seamlessly blends the citrusy notes of a high-grown Ceylon with the malty underscore of a pungent Assam. Spicy and jammy aroma on the leaf, malty and deep flavor with a brisk and ‘buzzy’ mouthfeel. Rounded sweetness in the finish.

Dry tea is at once sweet and strong in scent.

Liquor is a vibrant red-brown in the cup

Steeped tea has a smokey scent to it, giving the sweetness a sharp edge. Smells invigorating. Adding sugar gives it a smoother feel, and allows the spiced malty flavor to come out

Tea Rating:4/5


It’s been a bittersweet week.

I couldn’t really say why in particular, just found myself  missing people.

My family, both those that are in the same state but in a different city, and those that live across the country from me.

My friends who have moved away or that have simply drifted apart from me because of life’s turns.

And, of course, my grandmother.

But it is not all sad, it’s also a sweet thing, because missing people leads me to thinking about the ways we stay connected.

I have a drawing my sister gave me hanging up on one of the walls by my desk in the office.

I try to take the time to find and send good Christmas and birthday presents to my siblings (and my parents whenever possible)

I send messages via text and email when I find things that remind me of my friends that are far away

I write physical letters about the really important things from time to time, because having it writing is sometimes the best damn thing.

As far as missing my Gran, there are a lot of things I do to keep her close. I wear at least one piece of jewelry that once was hers almost every day. I think on her a lot, and occasionally write to her when I write in my journal.

Oddly enough though, the thing that makes me feel most connected to her is tending a heart leaf philodendron that I acquired when the office got moved around

20151006_100915

The reason, I think, why I feel so strongly connected to Gran with this happy little plant is because when she was still alive she had one that basically dominated the whole end table in the living room on which it sat. The fact that this one is not only surviving, but thriving under my care just feels good, and makes me feel like she’s with me in this case…particularly because I tend to have a problem keeping house plants alive.

What kinds of things do you do to stay connected with the people you love and miss?


“When I was young I didn’t understand, but now, I know, how absence can be present, like a damaged nerve, like a dark bird.
― Audrey Niffenegger, The Time Traveler’s Wife

One thought on “Irish breakfast

  1. HealthyEmily

    Irish breakfast is my all time favorite tea! It was the first black tea I ever tried and I was immediately hooked. Before that I only drank white tea, and I think it’s so funny how the longer you drink it the stronger you want it! I totally turn my nose up at white tea now haha unless I have no other option. Then, of course, white tea is better than no tea!

    Like

Leave a Reply

