Peach Oolong Cold-Brew

Standard

Tea of the Day: Peach Oolong Cold-Brew by Adagio Teas

Description: This Peach Oolong is made with the darker, more oxidized oolongs of Taiwan that are known for having lush, playful flavors. Deeply floral, honey and juicy, it’s not uncommon to have a lovely cup that’s almost like a succulent slice of peach.

This one is actually a multi-day project, as the instructions say “place overnight in a quart of water. Awake to find a tea rich in flavor and aroma”

Yes, I realize it’s now basically winter. However, I still get thirsty and sometimes hot tea doesn’t cut it

Before the steeping, the tea definitely smells of peach, making me think of the ripe fruit and peach tarts

Note: I added sugar cubes when I put the water into the pitcher, because I like my cold tea pretty sweet.

Liquor is (surprise) a peachy yellow in the cup

The steeped tea smells like peaches, with a hint of tartness to it. It tastes pretty much exactly like it smells, like peach juice with a refreshing crispness in the aftertaste that reveals it to be, in fact, tea. Excellent iced tea

Tea Rating: 5/5


They say that the average woman, before finding the man of her dreams, will experience four disaster dates and two heartbreaks.

Apparently, I dated my disasters.

I don’t mean this like you’d think; this is not a post of bitterness and bile.

I have gotten past the point of carrying the illusion that I’m the only one who suffered from these disasters, though I might be tempted to argue that I suffered more.

Essentially, what I mean is that my disasters are not monsters, nor are they the villains of my story.

In fact, it would probably not be a lie to say that I would not be where I am now if not for them teaching me about life, and how not to be in a relationship.

I learned what I can take, and what I shouldn’t.

I learned that I can survive the worst, the harsh things I hid from and survive, even flourish.

Now, I’m learning not to second guess.

I’m learning to accept that I’m not the only one who pays attention and to not feel guilty when my partner *does* pay attention.

He told me the other day, when I was snarly and sad because my week was just not going my way that it was OK, because I didn’t have to always be the stable one in the relationship.

I’m learning to relax, to be good with myself and trust that I’m not going to screw everything up again.

Most of all, I’m learning to make plans for the future not tempered by “ifs” but punctuated by “whens.”


“The emotion that can break your heart is sometimes the very one that heals it…”
― Nicholas Sparks, At First Sight

Leave a Reply

