Almond Oolong

Standard

Tea of the Day: Almond Oolong by Adagio Teas

Description: Combining savory almond with the bright, fruity-floral taste of Taiwanese oolong tea, our Almond Oolong is great on its own, as well as the perfect dessert complement. Smooth, clean and unroasted almond nutty aroma. Full, rounded body and sweet marzipan flavor.

Dry tea smells like amaretto, sweet almonds with a little bit of a kick.

Steeped tea has a similar scent, except with a coffee-like depth to it

Liquor is a clear reddish-brown in the cup

Without sugar, a smooth and nutty tea with a sweetly almond aftertaste, with a hint of a bite.

Adding sugar makes the tea even smoother, almost like there’s cream in it. The almond flavor is also more obvious and the tea begins to taste like the decadent dessert it smells like.

Tea Rating: 4.5/5


Earworm for today, from the song “The Light” by Sara Bareilles:

You are the air in my breath filling up my love soaked lungs
Such a beautiful mess intertwined and overrun
Nothing better than this, oh, and then the storm can come
You feel just like the sun, Just like the sun

It’s frustrating at times, these emotions I have running through me.

Not because I don’t want to feel them, but because I’ll be damned if I can express them without sounding cliche. Maybe that’s the point though, to find someone you can be unabashedly corny about.

Continuing on with what I feel when I listen to this song..

I am fire, light and warmth fueled by something unseen. I’m fine with burning myself up for others, though I periodically need to re-charge from the constant giving, shut down and hide away.

I need peace and quiet or soft music, need to walk or run or just dance like crazy, all of these things are true.

But there’s something else, now, a change in the internal workings.

When I think of shelter, of rest and comfort, the first thing that comes to mind isn’t my big comfy chair, under a blanket with a cup of tea in hand and music playing.

It’s a hug.

Specifically, a hug from my man.

I’m the warmer one in the relationship both in terms of actual physical heat and level of energy I have…but he has become my sun.

To stand in the sun, and to be wrapped up in his arms, they feel the same: warm and safe and joyful.

Except, my sun isn’t dependent on season, or weather, or time of day.

I’m drawn towards him unlike anyone or anything else. With him, I bloom like a flower, relaxing and unfurling outward from the tight bud at my center, letting him in where no one but me has ever seen.


Turn your face towards the sun
Let the shadows fall behind you
Don’t look back, just carry on
And the shadows will never find you” – Rhianna

Leave a Reply

