Honey Vanilla Chamomile

Standard

Tea of the Day: Honey Vanilla chamomile by Celestial Seasonings

Description: Our satisfying chamomile tea is cherished by many as a soothing antidote for life’s complications. We’ve added the delicious flavors of creamy, nutty vanilla with just a hint of refreshing orange to compliment our perfect blend of Egyptian and Mexican varieties of chamomile in this relaxing herbal tea

Smells like orange and vanilla immediately, followed by a sweetness, almost like an orange creamsicle. The last note in the dry tea is a bit of a tang

Liquor is honey golden in the cup

Steeped tea smells pretty similar to the dry, except you can smell the chamomile now.

Smooth and drinkable, honey and orange in the aftertaste, tang at the beginning. Just fine without sugar, although it does make my throat feel a little scratchy

Tea Rating: 3/5


Today, I found out that the new phone I recently got has a “beauty mode.”

I tested it out, and what it does is smooth out your skin, make it “perfect.” It goes on a scale from 0 to 8, 0 being your normal face, 8 being no blemishes, scars, tan lines, or dark circles, and so on.

This is the first thing that came to mind:

your face

He makes a good point…the drive for “perfect” has many never actually showing their true face.

And I’m not just talking about your actual physical face, either.

It’s taboo to be real, to the point where people are dying over appearances, by their own hands and at the hands of people who are supposed to love them.

It’s a praiseworthy thing to find out that someone is really and truly honest, even just with themselves. And to be honest to other people? *gasp* how brave!

I find it frustrating and sometimes scary that Photoshop perfect is what we’re supposed to want.

The beauty setting on the selfie camera took away the bump on my chin from the mole I’ve had for most of my life, the faint lines around my eyes and in my forehead from a lifetime of expressing myself, the scar on my shoulder (which was visible in the shot) that has a story behind it, and the tan lines that speak of time spent in the summer sun.

Smoothing out the dips and bumps of my face made it look like life didn’t happen to me, like I’ve sailed through without being present or feeling anything along the way.

Makeup can boost your confidence, bring out your favorite parts of yourself: your eyes, your smile, your delicate cheekbones, your dimples.

But at some point, too much makeup, too much Photoshop stop enhancing the beauty that makes you you but rather makes it like you were never you at all.

That’s not something I want for myself, what about you?


Inner beauty should be the most important part of improving one’s self.” – Priscilla Presley

Leave a Reply

