Dong Ding Oolong

Standard

Today, a special and rare tea from my local tea place:

Tea of the Day:  High ferment Dong Ding Oolong by Sipping Streams

Description: Classic Taiwanese oolong tea, grown high above Lugu valley this frozen summit tea leads with soaring floral gardenia notes and finishes rich in the throat. Dong Ding oolong is in the middle of oolong’s green tea to black tea continuum which gives a robust flavor that can be infused repeatedly.

Dry leaves first smell like a hearty, slightly peppery vegetable stew, with a hint of sweetness

Smells much sweeter once steeped

Liquor is the palest gold in the cup, more of  a tint than a color

Has a sweet-savory flavor that is somehow both light and robust, really needs no sweetening. Flavor gets more savory as it cools

Second infusion gives a darker golden liquor, and a more vegetable-like flavor, with the sweetness coming in as an aftertaste

Tea Rating: 5/5


Today, August 17th, is the anniversary of when I started writing this blog.

It has now been one year!

I only posted about half as many posts as I had planned but the fact that I am still happily and consistently posting to it makes me feel pretty good. In fact, I’ll go so far as to say that I’m proud of myself. This project was always meant to be long-term, but I’ll admit that I didn’t expect that I’d have the wherewithal to continue with the way life can be so crazy at times

In truth, though, I find this consistent writing has helped me a lot when things were hard or sad. It seems having this outlet and knowing that I have people who read what I have to say is just what the doctor ordered, so to speak.

So, with that in mind, and in the interest of keeping on putting out positive vibes, some goals for the next year:

  • Continue to post in this blog, as often as I am able
  • Finish my degree…I am down to my last semester, so as long as I stay focused, this should not be a problem
  • Flesh out my book. I’ve posted a little about the story that’s in my head here, and written some descriptions of people and places involved in it, but I’d like to actually have written is, or at least made some progress towards it, by this time next year

This year has been full of changes, some that seemed bad at first, but turned out great, and some that started out shiny and have just continued to get better

That said, I can honestly say that I had no idea a year ago where I’d be now.

I had hopes, of course

But, honestly, where I am now is far better than anything I had dared to hope


The heartbreak of finding an empty teacup when you thought there was one gulp to go“. ~Rob Temple, @SoVeryBritish (Very British Problems: Making Life Awkward for Ourselves, One Rainy Day at a Time, 2013)

Leave a Reply

