English Breakfast

Standard

Tea of the Day: English Breakfast by Twinnings Tea

Description: Originally blended to compliment the traditional hearty English Breakfast (from which the tea derives it’s name), it’s refreshing and invigorating flavor makes it ones of the most popular black teas to drink any time of day or at any occasion

Dry tea smells right and slightly spice, then sweet and fresh

Liquor is a dark brown in the cup, very similar to the color of coffee

Steeped tea smells like sweet sun tea, even before sugar is added, but retains its spicy hint

Drinks like coffee, smooth, dark and robust

Tea Rating: 3.5/5


A favorite quote of mine about tea: “If you are cold; tea will warm you. If you are too heated; it will cool you. If you are depressed; it will cheer you. If you are excited; it will calm you”

I find that this a very accurate statement for me, particularly when it comes to bad days: when I am upset, my first thought is to go make tea. Even when I’m not recording it because it’s a tea I’ve had before, or writing a blog post, I find myself digging in my tea cupboard almost before I fully register that I am unhappy

There is something in the ritual of it: filling the teakettle, setting it to boil, choosing tea, choosing a mug, prepping the tea and the mug for the hot water, pouring the water over the tea and then wrapping my hands around the mug while inhaling the aroma of the steeping tea that makes everything seem right with the world

Even when I’m facing a problem larger than the serenity of tea can fix, going through my tea ritual calms me enough to allow me to face the problem head on with a clear mind and intention.

I’m not the only one who feels this way, or even one of few. There are recorded quotes from people all over the world, from all walks of life, who hold the ritual of tea in high regard for much the same reason I do.

My tea ritual is simple compared to some, such a tea ceremonies in China and Japan, but it’s something that can come with me wherever I go. In fact, the last time I traveled, I brought with me my tea mug and sugar cubes and a small selection of tea, so I could keep drinking and writing while I was away.

I remember getting more than a few glances and smiles as I prepared my tea while waiting for my plane in the airport, almost like people were pleasantly surprised to see something so simple and normal in such a usually stressed and hectic situation.

For myself, I felt like I was showing a whole new audience the joy of tea, and that’s a pretty awesome accomplishment in my book


Perhaps it is while drinking tea that I most of all enjoy the sense of leisure“. ~George Gissing, The Private Papers of Henry Ryecroft, 1903

Leave a Reply

