Lemon Souffle Honeybush

Standard

Tea of the day: Lemon Souffle  honeybush by The Whistling Kettle.

Description: Wonderful synergy of lemon, cream, honeybush and rooibos

Smells like lemon meringue pie, just not as seet

Liquor is a dark red-brown in the cup

Smells a little more tart when steeped

Lemony and sweet in flavor.

A little sugar brings out the honey flavor, emphasizes the slight tart and makes the tea even smoother

Tea Rating: 4.5/5


Today, a little story bit based on the following phrase from a short story called “Crow Girls” by Charles de Lint

“He hears the murmuring conversation of a couple approaching him, their shoulders and hair white with snow”


I imagine telling a story about one of my favorite memories of my significant other at some far point in the future. The memory is as follows:

I, small ball of heat that I am, absolutely love snow. Not so much snow on the ground, but falling snow. It’s peaceful and cleansing and makes me aware of how very alive I am

You, cold blooded as you are, are not so fond of this. You appreciate snow for the backdrop it makes to being curled up inside, warm and snugly with a good book.

In spite of this, though, when I said I wanted to go for a walk out in that record setting dump, you asked me to wait for you while you got into your gear so you could come with me

At first we walked in silence, for my part just blanking out and listening to the world while your silence was a numbly bear grumble, feeling like “she’s lucky I love her so much”

But then, out of nowhere, I started to sing, one of our favorite songs. My voice cut through the silence, echoing off the buildings and trees around us, seeming to create a pocket of warmth around us

At first you just looked at me like you weren’t quite sure how to respond, but then you joined in, matching and enhancing what I’d already begun. One song turned into many, flowing from one to the other without hesitation.

When we finally faded out, you touched me on the shoulder to stop me, then picked me up and spun me around, laughing

After that, we walked hand in hand, talking quietly about (at least at first) the power of music

Later on, I realized that we had not been out there alone on our walk, but there was something about the perfection of that moment of joy and music surrounded by falling snow that made everything else just fall away


“Autumn stars shine through gaps in the wall…. [H]e… brews midnight tea by the stove’s ruddy light. ”

~From a traditional Taoist song, quoted in John Eaton Calthorpe Blofeld, The Chinese Art of Tea

Leave a Reply

