White Champagne Raspberry

Standard

Tea of the Day: White Champagne Raspberry

Description: premium white tea infused with champagne and raspberries

Smells sweet and tart, strong raspberry with a kick of something else. 

Liquor is bright pale yellow in the cup

Smooth, lightly sweet flavor. The raspberry is very prominent, but has a pleasantly tart finish.

Sugar makes it more raspberry.

Tea Rating: 3.5/5


More of the story I started last week, just a short thought..


Two months earlier

My journey began on a blustery fall night, though at the time I was unaware that anything had changed

I was supposed to be meeting my brother at his condo on the edge of town, to begin planning our yearly winter backpacking trip.

Trouble was, there was no one home, and no answer on his phones.

Well, maybe Mom conned him into coming over for dinner, knowing that I would then also show up, I thought, pulling up her contact info on my phone.

She answered on the first ring, as usual. She always seemed to know when someone was going to try to get in touch with her, and never understood why I found that to be so strange

“Hello?” she answered.

“Hey Mom,” I said into my phone, standing huddled in the shadows outside my brother’s front door.

“Hey Sweetie,” she replied, her voice echoing and slightly far away, the sound of sizzling in the background. I had apparently caught her making dinner

“Have you heard from Darius lately?” I asked

“Wasn’t he out on that big assignment for Global?”

“Yes,” I replied, “But he should have been back by now. We were supposed to be meeting now-ish to discuss plans for our big trek this year”

“He probably just go a juicy lead and lost track of time. You know how he is,” Mom said, and I could almost see her looking at me with her infamous rueful smile quirking her lips.

“Yeah, I guess. Thanks Mom,” I said, sighing.

“You’re welcome, Sweetie. Try not to worry so much.”

As the line went dead, I said “If only that were possible”

I tucked my phone back into my pocket and turned away from my brother’s darkened house, trying to push down the sense of foreboding that was rising up inside.

Mom’s right, I thought, He’s just off chasing his story. Nothing to worry about 

If only I had known then how wrong I was.

Leave a Reply

