Sencha

Standard

Tea of the Day: Sencha  by Golden Moon Tea

Description: Sencha is a Japanese green loose leaf tea with the delightful aroma of a fresh country meadow after the spring rains. Grown in the shadow of Mount Fuji, this smooth green tea is traditionally served to guests in Japanese homes. Not only is it beautiful in color and beneficial to the body, but also healthy and delicious. The flavor of our Sencha tea leaf is light but memorable imparting the freshness and aroma of freshly mowed grass

Smells light, sweet, grassy and soothing

Liquor is a bright yellow-green in the cup

Light, grassy flavor with a sweet aftertaste.

Adding sugar brings a savory fullness to the tea

Tea Rating: 3.5/5


Today, a scene from a story that I was dreaming


A sudden snow drove me out of the forest, away from my search, back to town.

The only thing open at that point, at half past 9 on a weekday, was a little café. I went in, intending only to fill my thermos with something warm and be on my way back to my hotel to regroup, mark on my map where I’d looked and figure out where to go next.

All my intentions changed when I saw her.

In a chair near the fireplace, curled like a cat, occasionally sipping from a steaming mug balanced on the arm of the chair as she read, was a woman I’d long since ceased believing was even real.

You see, in my family, we dream of the one we’re meant to be with, our Other Half, from the first day of puberty onward until we meet them. Most of us find our Mate by the time we reach 25; at this point I was nearly 32 and had come to think that I was the first one in a century to not actually even have a Mate.

To find her here, in this hamlet on the edge of the Great Unknown, while searching for my lost brother, was a shock, to say the least.

As though she felt the weight of my gaze, she looked up, meeting my gaze head on

The world stopped as I looked into those eyes from across the room, deep and dark but warm, familiar to me as my own and yet utterly strange since this was the first time I’d ever seen them while awake

She dipped her head in greeting, one corner of her rose pink mouth turning upward just slightly in what to me seemed to be a knowing smile.

She turned her attention back to her book and I suddenly became aware of the fact that I was still just inside the doorway. Shaking my head and rubbing my arms as if to ward off the chill, I made my way to the counter and ordered a tea, the strongest black tea they had.

Once I had my tea in hand, I made my way over to her, suddenly nervous. I felt as though in a dream, and wondered if she would be accepting of my presence or reject it. Most often, when we do find our Mate, even if the one in question does not have the same kind of visions that we do, they feel the connection and accept it. Still though, I was unsure.

I sat down across from her, gently setting my mug down on the table between us as I did so. She unfolded her long, long, legs, placing her mug on the table and feet on the floor.

The next thing she did both startled and delighted me: she held out her hand, palm up, about halfway across the table and said “give me your hand”

I obliged, and the moment we touched, she smiled. It was the most beautiful sight I could ever recall seeing, sunshine on a cloudy day, moonlight on a snowy night.

“You are the one I’ve been waiting for…it’s about damn time!”

I laughed, and she laughed with me, lacing her fingers in mine and even in the midst of my worry for my brother, I knew that I was exactly where I should be and that everything would work out exactly as I should.

“I’ve missed you”, I said, trying not do dwell on how strange that would sound.

She blushed a little then, just a slight pink of the apples of her cheeks “I’ve missed you too”


“Who would then deny that when I am sipping tea in my tearoom I am swallowing the whole universe with it and that this very moment of my lifting the bowl to my lips is eternity itself transcending time and space?”
D.T. Suzuki, Zen and Japanese Culture

Leave a Reply

