Snowflake

Standard

Tea of the Day: Snowflake by The Whistling Kettle

Description: Black tea with almond, coconut and cinnamon; a smooth and easygoing tea.

Smells quite a bit like amaretto and also like a tasty, freshly made granola bar

Liquor is a cloudy-red brown in the cup

Tea actually smells sweeter when steeped

Before sugar, just tastes like sweet almonds but not a whole lot else. Once you add a little sugar the other flavors come out. Tea does need a longer steep than you’d expect

Tea Rating: 3/5


The one constant in life is change

Today my day was spent making phone calls to cut back on costs, and filling out job applications.

This is not a change I planned for but for some reason I feel more confident now than I did before this upheaval

There are,I think, a few reasons for this

First off, the response from my friends and family has been overwhelmingly supportive; asking if there’s anything they can do, offering to get me out of my house for a meal, etc.

One of my friends even said that my friendly, presence has been so helpful to her during her recent rough patch that she would be only too happy to help me out now.

I have to say, getting back the positive I put out feels pretty great

Second thing is that I’m viewing this as a learning experience; Yes, it’s frustrating and I do feel a bit like I failed, but as long as I don’t sit on my fanny and cry I don’t see this holding me back for very long. I now have more experience under my belt and a better sense of what my limits are/ the kind of environment that doesn’t suit me.

Thirdly, I have a plan. There are things I can do to cut costs, and there are job openings that I could very easily apply my skills to. I might even get to work at my local tea shop in the meantime, which is pretty great.

This is a bit of a hiccup, but more than that, it’s a change in direction and will likely take me somewhere I would not have even dreamed, otherwise


“Teaism is a cult founded on the adoration of the beautiful among the sordid facts of everyday existence. It inculcates purity and harmony, the mystery of mutual charity, the romanticism of the social order. It is essentially a worship of the Imperfect, as it is a tender attempt to accomplish something possible in this impossible thing we know as life.”
Kakuzō Okakura, The Book of Tea

Leave a Reply

