Sinharaja

Standard

Tea of the Day: Sinharaja by Golden Moon Tea

Description: Rich, dark leaves that are nourished by fertile rain forest streams in the hills of Ceylon. A toasty, molasses-like character with ripe berry notes and a caramelized finish.

Smells dark and rich, a little bit like freshly made pizza before baking. Has a slight sharpness to it

Liquor is red-orange brown in the cup.

Smells sweeter when steeped, the pizza smell is gone, replaced by a more coffee-like scent, the bitterness smoothed out

Has a darkly sweet flavor that lingers in the mouth. Adding sugar makes it richer and smoother, a bit more like it’s already flavored with molasses. Adding a touch of milk allows the lighter carmely flavors to come out

Tea Rating: 4/5


This time last week, I was sitting in the airport waiting for my flight out to go see a friend for the weekend.  As I was sitting in the airport, I came across this and laughed out loud

teahouse

If I lived alone, I’d probably spend half my trip agonizing about what I may have forgotten to do, or left running, etc. As it is, my worry about home was very fleeting: “I hope my dog behaves himself”

This is another instance that I am glad I don’t actually live alone. In the past I’ve said I wish I could afford it, or that I don’t really like sharing my space, etc…but I find that there are a lot of good reasons not to live alone, a lot of which don’t even occur to me until they come up

I’ve got a pretty good thing going here until such time that I can take the next major step into adulthood: buying a house


“Tea was good. Tea was possibly the safest drink in the entire Empire. It defied anything untoward.”
Kate Harper, The Marquis At Midnight    

Leave a Reply

