Lavender Mate

Standard

Tea of the Day: Lavender Mate by Sipping Streams

Description:  Sipping Streams’ Lavender Yerba Maté is blended with premium lavender from the fields of France for a relaxing and energizing experience.

Smells light and sweetly flowery

Yellowish green in the cup

Once steeped, has a very flowery smell

Tea is light and–you guessed it–flowery, with a grassy, mint hint of kick and flavor

Tea Rating: 4/5


An example of how being inside my headspace has actually been quite good for me:

I spent some time flipping through the journal that I will be moving to once my current one is filled and found I had to resist the urge to rip out what I had written

Not because the writing was really all that bad…some of it was not all that great but there were a few spots of rather clear ideas and images that I still relate to now (one or two of them will probably even be future blog posts)

No, the reason why I wanted those pages gone is because I was plainly not healthy on a mental/emotional level

It is clear from my writing that I was angry or sad quite a lot, and that I was spending time with or dating people who were not good for me…and rather than expecting them to own up to mistakes that they were making at the time, I blamed it all on myself. I thought that I deserved what I was getting and that the only way to fix it was to change myself.

This was as recently as four years ago.

Reading these words sparked my curiosity, so I flipped back to the beginning of the journal I’m writing in right now

More of the same, from only about a year ago

Maybe a little more rightful irritation at the situation I was in, but still quite a lot of self-blame

I was right about one thing

I did need to change…just not for the reasons I once thought

I needed to become a better person, but for me, not to make someone else happy

Because self-hatred should have no place inside my head and heart…or in anyone’s head and heart, really. No one deserves that. I deserve better than that

Reading my old journal entries had me feeling a little scared for myself, and rather blown away by how bad it had really been

So, I kept reading. Scanning from the start of my current journal (June 2013) all the way up through now

This turned out the be a very good thing

I have changed…  A LOT.

Reading through from then until now, it is clear to see the difference. If I read yesterday’s entry, and then one from last year, the difference is almost stark. Reading it in order, I can chart a gradual change of mindset and thought patterns just from the change in word choice and subject matter

I needed to change, and I certainly have

And I have to say, that feels pretty awesome.


“If leeches ate peaches instead of my blood, then I would be free to drink tea in the mud!”
Emilie Autumn, The Asylum for Wayward Victorian Girls

Leave a Reply

