Bramblewine

Standard

Tea of the Day: Organic Bramblewine by Tazo Tea

Description: Organic Rooibos and green tea meet under the apple tree and follow a hidden trail through brambly hillsides to their hidden strawberry patch. They unpack a picnic, toasting the day’s adventure over hibiscus chalices brimming with ripe, dark berries— (side note here, talk about a pretentious description!)

Smells of apples and citrus, bright and sunny

Once steeped, smells much the same. Liquor is a clear dark magenta pink in the cup

Relaxing and subtly fruity. Sweet but not cloying, easy to drink

Tea Rating: 3.75/5


Life is good

But, life is also hard

I’m in a good place in my life, in truth.

Healthier and happier than I was a year ago, even a few months ago, by far.

Except there’s this one thing

My family is not a particularly tight one…we’re all a little bit anti-social and do better in person. So we love each other but we don’t spend a lot of time day to day saying so. We know it’s there, and don’t spend a ton of time expressing it

However, during the holidays, we all make a little more of an effort to really show that we care. From the end of November to the end of December we tend to spend more time doing things as a family (things that are fun, and memorable) than at any other time of the year

So, being away from my parents house is always a little sad around this time, though I do spend Christmas down with them whenever I can

This year it’s more sad, in a more pointed way

This year, my grandmother is not here to celebrate with us.

Not a surprise, but not easy either, since it’s the first holiday season without her at least on the phone for my entire life

I am so very blessed, so very glad I am where I am right now….but I feel just a bit broken

I understand this is part of the grieving process.

That this is normal

But I feel like I’m taking up at least a part time residence in Crazy Town

I spent a little time thinking about things…about how I feel, and why, and what I can do.

There isn’t much I can do, because wounds (even the emotional kind) simply take time to heal

But I do understand that there will be certain chunks of time that will be harder for me than others. Cycles, if you will. And with that awareness, I can at least make an effort to prepare for the rough patches

That’s something, at least.


“Rainy days should be spent at home with a cup of tea and a good book.”
Bill Watterson, The Calvin and Hobbes Tenth Anniversary Book

Leave a Reply

