Wu-Yi Oolong

Standard

Tea of the Day: Wu-Yi (Big Red) Oolong by Sipping Streams

The leaves, when dry, have a strong smokey smell with a rich sweetness to them

Liquor is red-gold in the cup

Earthy, apricoty flavor, with a smokey hint. Sweet, tasty, and very smooth

Tea Rating: 4.5/5


Keeping with the theme of things we say without realizing it, today I want to talk a little about body language

When we communicate, body language is super important.

In fact, it is entirely possible to say all the right things and still not be well-received if your gestures, posture, or facial expressions don’t match your words.

It is also possible to communicate with someone who has a limited grasp of your language by using our instinctual understanding of body language to our advantage…although it can be tricky, because different cultures have different non-verbal norms

So, if you want to be confident, show that you’re confident. Chin up, shoulders back and down, chest open. Hands loose at your sides, not in pockets. If you want to go broke, you can also stand with your hands on your hips, elbows out. I’ve also personally noticed that if you fold your hands behind your back rather than in front of you when you walk or stand you will seem calmer because your chest is open

On the flip side of that, if you slouch, drop your shoulders, stand or walk with your knees bent, stuff your hands in your pockets, duck your head, look down at the ground, cross your arms in front of you, you appear not to be confident. And you don’t even have to do all of those things for someone to assume your confidence is low. For example, you can be standing up straight and looking up, but if your hands migrate into your pockets you’ll appear uncomfortable or nervous

Body language is subtle, but important

In my efforts to be happier with myself, I started doing something new: on the days where I wake up in funk, or something gets me down, I will go into the bathroom, look in the mirror, and adjust my stance until I look like I think a confident person would look. I make myself smile at me and mean it, and then I walk out of the bathroom like that, actively emulating confident people everywhere.

“Fake it ’till you make it” is more accurate than one might think


“Tea is the magic key to the vault where my brain is kept.”
Frances Hardinge

Leave a Reply

