Organic Lapasang Souchong

Standard

Today’s Tea: Organic Lapasang Souchong by Sipping Streams

Very smokey campfire-y smell, but with a hint of sweetness

Light orange-red in the cup and flavor, though the flavor is more mild than the smell and has a nice touch of sweetness

Tea Rating: 3.75/5

Today I had an odd experience where someone from my past tried to just drop back into my life as though no time had passed since last we met. Like “Hello, nothing has changed, you still totally want me.”

Except I don’t.

But because I still care about him, I did at least attempt to be nice when I rebuffed his advance

It got me thinking though, what makes a person suddenly want to go back?

What makes them think it’s even a possibility?

Is that the difference between maturity and childhood?

I won’t say that I don’t sometimes look fondly on things that have happened in my past and wonder what it might have been like if those things had not changed

I do know, though, that those things changing got me to be who I am now, and I’m quite happy and proud of me as I am right now. I also know that even if I could re-start relationships that I had with people in my past, they can never be exactly what they were. That was a different time, we were different people.

It is possible to get into a new relationship with an old person, but only if both parties realize that they are not the same people so the relationship simply cannot be what it was.

From the brief conversation I had, it seems that my old friend does not realize this. It’s a kind of jerky way to view the world, but I also find it a little sad.

So, what do you think? Is it possible to go back? Would you even want to if you could?

“Writing is a job, a talent, but it’s also the place to go in your head. It is the imaginary friend you drink your tea with in the afternoon.”
Ann Patchett, Truth and Beauty

One thought on “Organic Lapasang Souchong

Leave a Reply

